Classroom environment with students working at computersThe Northern Territory's education system provides a variety of choices in public and private schooling with options from preschool to tertiary level, in line with Australian recognised standards.

Education in the Territory is a partnership between students, parents, teachers and the Northern Territory Department of Education. Contact details, and maps of all public and private schools in the Northern Territory can be located on the Department of Education's website.

A range of tertiary and vocational education and training courses are available throughout the Northern Territory, at facilities such as Charles Darwin University, Yirara College and the Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education. In addition to these institutions, there are numerous private training organisations registered in the Northern Territory. 

More information: